Facebook Google Plus LikedIn My Space Orkut Twiter YouTube
Home | About Us | Tender / EoI | Archive (Old Site) | Feedback | Photo Gallery | Contact Us
North-East states in Ranji next season on
By Our Correspondent, 09/09/2017, New Delhi




In a breakthrough for north-eastern states, the Committee of Administrators (CoA) on Friday (September 8) assured the Indian cricket board's (BCCI) six state units that they will be part of the Ranji Trophy from the next season. The six north-east teams will participate in addition to the existing 28 Ranji Trophy teams if the Lodha reforms are implemented by state units. BCCI GM (game development) Ratnakar Shetty has been given charge of their smooth integration.

In a meeting with the CoA in Delhi, the six northeastern states - Meghalaya, Manipur, Mizoram, Sikkim, Nagaland and Arunachal Pradesh - were also assured of playing the BCCI age group categories (U-16, U-23) from this season onwards.

However, the states, to be treated as a zone, will have to wait for clearance from BCCI technical committee head Sourav Ganguly to take part in Under-19 all-India event. This is because the schedule has already been prepared.

"Mr (Vinod) Rai told us that since the Ranji Trophy is starting from Oct 6, it will be difficult to play this season. However we will be playing as individual states from next season.

"After all these years, this is the first time we have got a complete assurance. Prof Shetty will look into the implementation part," NE convenor Naba Bhattacharjee told reporters.


Home | About Us | Photo Gallery | Archive (Old Site) | Feedback | Archive (New / Current Site) | Contact Us

© 2017 Tripura Chronicle, Syandan Bhawan, 41 Sakuntala Road, Agartala - 799001, Tripura West
Contact: +91 9436503842(M), +91 9863048756(M), 0381 238 0262(L), Email:tripurachronicle@gmail.com