Facebook Google Plus LikedIn My Space Orkut Twiter YouTube
Home | About Us | Tender / EoI | Archive (Old Site) | Feedback | Photo Gallery | Contact Us
Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Hyderabad and Karnataka spar over two runs
By Our Correspondent, 12/01/2018, From the Web Desk


The South Zone Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy match between Hyderabad and Karnataka at the ACA-VDCA Stadium here on Thursday witnessed frayed tempers, resulting in the former lodging a protest with the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).
The drama started after Karnataka finished at 203 and the score was revised to 205. When Hyderabad finished the stipulated 20 overs at 203 for nine, they expected the super over to be played as they felt the target cannot be revised after they go in to bat. To their surprise, Karnataka were adjudged the winners. 

The Hyderabad team went to the pitch and stayed there for about an hour, all the time seeking a change in the decision of the officials. They later relented and left the ground, but their coach J Arun Kumar said the team would protest with BCCI over the issue.

The result was crucial for both teams. Karnataka, last year's South Zone winners, needed a win in the third match of the league since they have lost one match against Andhra and won another while this would have been Hyderabad's third straight win and would have put them in a comfortable position to finish among the top two of the league and qualify for the knockout phase.

Karnataka found out through a TV replay after their innings was over that a Karun Nair boundary in the second over of the innings — Mehdi Hasan fielded the ball on the mid-wicket fence — had been given as two runs. Based on the TV replay, Karnataka captain R Vinay Kumar approached the umpires and saw to it two more runs were added to the team total. This led to heated arguments between Hyderabad captain Ambati Rayudu and the officials. Rayudu said since there was confusion at the start of the innings, he went and told umpire Ulhas Gandhe that the score cannot be changed.

Brief scores: Tamil Nadu 155/5 in 20 overs (D Karthik 56, A Desai 3 for 22) beat Goa 130/7 in 20 overs; Karnataka 205/5 in 20 overs (Karun Nair 77, K Gowtham 57) beat Hyderabad 203 for 9 in 20 overs (A Reddy 70; S Binny 3 for 29)

Home | About Us | Photo Gallery | Archive (Old Site) | Feedback | Archive (New / Current Site) | Contact Us

© 2017 Tripura Chronicle, Syandan Bhawan, 41 Sakuntala Road, Agartala - 799001, Tripura West
Contact: +91 9436503842(M), +91 9863048756(M), 0381 238 0262(L), Email:tripurachronicle@gmail.com