Facebook Google Plus LikedIn My Space Orkut Twiter YouTube
Saina clinches it for Warriors
By Our Correspondent

New Delhi , 10 Jan, 2017 :: Saina Nehwal edged out Cheung Ngan Yi 9-11, 11-5, 11-5 in a crucial rubber to guide Awadhe Warriors past Bengaluru Blasters in the Premier Badminton League (PBL) here on Monday.

The victory took Awadhe to the top of the points table, and all but guaranteed the franchise a spot in the semifinal.

Up 2-1 on match score, Saina took on Yi (World No. 19), in Awadhe’s trump fixture. Yi startled her opponent by taking the first game 11-9.

Saina then clawed her way back, thanks to some delicate net play.

The Indian dragged Yi to all corners of the court, and went on to clinch the rubber.

The two points gained by Saina gave Awadhe an unassailable 4-1 lead.

Perfect start

In the opening men’s singles encounter, Bengaluru’s Sourabh Varma (World No. 44) put on a commendable show. Varma upset 17th-ranked Vincent Wong 13-11, 11-7 to give the home side the perfect start.

Awadhe pulled level in the next outing, with A. Savitree and Bodin Isara taking out Sung Hyun-Sikki Reddy in the mixed doubles.

Bengaluru was let down by its star shuttler Viktor Axelsen.

The Olympic bronze medallist was toppled by K. Srikanth in straight games.

The two players regularly engaged in a battle of drop shots, and more often than not, it was Srikanth who came out on top.

On match point, Srikanth closed it out with a stinging down-the-line smash, relegating Axelsen to his second straight defeat in this event.

Bengaluru, meanwhile, slipped to a fourth consecutive match loss.

The results:

Bengaluru Blasters lost to Awadhe Warriors 3-4 (Sourabh Varma bt Vincent Wong 13-11, 11-7; Sung Hyun & Sikki Reddy lost to A. Savitree & Bodin Isara 11-9, 4-11, 5-11; Viktor Axelsen lost to K. Srikanth 9-11, 9-11; Cheung Ngan lost to Saina Nehwal (T) 11-9, 5-11, 5-11; Sung Hyun & Yeon Seong (T) bt Shem Goh & Markis Kido 6-11, 11-9, 11-6).

On Sunday: Bengaluru Blasters lost to Mumbai Rockets 1-4 (Sourabh Varma lost to H.S. Prannoy 11-4, 6-11, 3-11; Sung Hyun Ko & Yeon Seong Yoo bt Yong Dae Lee & Nipitphon Puangpuapech 11-7, 7-11, 11-5; Viktor Axelsen (T) lost to Ajay Jayaram 8-11, 9-11; Cheung Ngan Yi lost to Ji Hyun Sung (T) 7-11, 8-11; Sung Hyan Ko & Sikki Reddy bt Nipitphon Puangpuapech & Nadiezda Zieba 11-6, 11-

  comments with us
* Name :  
* e-mail :  
  Address :  
* Comments :  
* 2+2=? :  

Posted comments
Till now there is no comments for this news.

© 2013 Tripura Chronicle, Syandan Bhawan, 41 Sakuntala Road, Agartala - 799001, Tripura West
Contact: +91 9436503842(M), +91 9863048756(M), 0381 238 0262(L), Email:tripurachronicle@gmail.com