32 C
Monday, July 15, 2024

Jitendra writes SEC demanding extension of last date for claim, objection on voters list


BY TC News Desk

Agartala, 13th June 2024:  Alleging massive violence and attacks on opposition workers, the CPIM state committee secretary Jitendra Chaudhury today wrote a letter to the State Election Commissioner, Saradindu Chaudhury demanding extension of last date of claim and objection on voters list of three tier Panchayat poll  for another 10 days.

In the letter, Chaudhury who is also leader of opposition alleged that since the Lok Sabha election results came out, the BJP followers spearheaded attacks on the houses of opposition supporters, vandalised CPI(M) offices, carried on physical attacks on the CPI(M) activists, in various places of the state.

“They also did not hesitate to physically assault the CPI(M) representatives in block premises where they were intending to represent the party in all party meeting convened by the BDOs. These happened at Boxanagar of Sonamura and Salema of Kamalpur Sub-Divisions. Several block offices have become inaccessible for the CPI(M) activists due to active threat from the ruling BJP miscreants”, he alleged.

He said that in view of this appalling situation, CPI(M) demands extension of last date of claim and objection on voters list for another 10 days so that the party may have sufficient time to scrutinize the voters list to see, whether Panchayat and Ward- wise segregation of draft voter list was made properly.

The Tripura State Election Commission has already taken steps to conduct the election in a proper time, which means completing it in the first week of August.

Following this, SEC have finalized 2,650 polling stations under 35 blocks, and have published the draft voter list, whose period of claims and objections is ongoing. By July 24, it will be finalized. As per the draft voter list, the number of voters is 12,95,086.

Share post:




More like this

Unity and brotherhood strengthened through cultural traditions: CM

 By TC News Desk Agartala, 14th July 2024:  Chief Minister...

Tripura BJP declares candidate’s names for Panchayat elections

By TC News Desk Agartala, 14th July 2024:  The ruling...

PCC President Asish Kumar Saha condemns violence ahead of Panchayat elections in BJP-ruled state

By TC News Desk Agartala, 14th July 2024:  Pradesh Congress...