22.9 C
Saturday, March 25, 2023

Around 300 candidates may file nomination on Jan 30: CEO


BY TC News Desk

Agartala: January 29. Chief Electoral Officer Kiran Gitte today said that till 27th January only 76 nomination papers were submitted and stated that all possible steps have been taken for the smooth filing of nomination papers tomorrow.

CEO Gitte along with West District Magistrate Debapriya Bardhan, West District Superintendent of Police Sankar Debnath have inspected and offices in Agartala in which the political parties will submit their nomination papers.

“Tomorrow is the last day of filing nomination papers. Till 27th of January we have received 76 nominations from 60 assembly constituencies. In last election around 350 candidates submitted their nomination papers so we are hoping as tomorrow is the last day of filing nomination, more 300 nominations would be submitted across the state”, he said.Gitte further informed that there will eight Returning Officers in Agartala.

“In Sadar sub-division there are two ROs in West DM office, one RO will be in Sramik Bhawan, another RO will  be in Shiksha Bhawan and in Palace Compound and in Gurkhabasti there will be one ROs each. In Agartala city there will be eight ROs”, Gitte told reporters.

He also said security arrangements were made to avert any kind of incidents.

“Political parties will hold rallies during nomination submissions and for which we have arranged security arrangement to avert any kind of untoward incident and for which we are inspecting the ground how we can deploy forces and from which route political parties will come for submission of nomination papers. All the ROs have held a meeting with Police and political parties and discussed about nomination process. All necessary steps were taken for smooth nomination process”, he added.

Share post:




More like this

Reading books is very necessary for expansion of thinking :  CM

By TC News Desk Agartala, March 24: Chief Minister Prof...

Jiten writes to CM, demands to direct police to act upon poll violence

By TC News Desk Agartala: March 24. CPIM state committee...

TMP MLA Animesh becomes opposition leader, Kalyani becomes Chief Whip

By TC News Desk Agartala, March 24: TIPRA Motha party...

Biswabandhu Sen elects as new Speaker of TLA

BY TC News Desk Agartala: March 24. Biswabandhu Sen, MLA...