32 C
Monday, June 17, 2024

BJP Announces Candidates for Boxanagar and Dhanpur Bypolls


BY TC News Desk

Agartala, 16th August 2023 :  Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has announced its candidates for the upcoming bypolls in Boxanagar and Dhanpur constituencies in the Sepahijala district.

 The bypolls are scheduled for September 5, with vote counting set for September 8. Tafajjal Hossain has been selected as the BJP’s candidate for Boxanagar, while Bindu Debnath will represent the party in Dhanpur.

These bye-elections were necessitated by the passing of Boxanagar’s CPM legislator, Samsul Haque, and the resignation of the previously elected BJP representative in Dhanpur. Tafajjal Hossain previously contested from Boxanagar in the February assembly polls, whereas Bindu Debnath is a local BJP leader from Dhanpur.

A total of 93,234 voters will participate, with 51 polling stations in Boxanagar and 59 booths in Dhanpur.

Share post:




More like this

Five dead, 30 injured after Agartala-Sealdah Kanchanjungha Express hit by goods train

By TC News Desk Agartala, 17th June 2024:  As many...

Massive Fire Destroys Factories Due to Gas Leak, TIDC assures help

By TC News Desk Agartala, 16th June 2024 :  A...

CM stresses need for consistent blood donation and storage

By TC News Desk Agartala, 16th June 2024 :  Chief...

Strict action will be taken for non-disclosure of high-power appliances in city: Power Minister

By TC News Desk Agartala, 16th June 2024 :   Power...