34 C
Wednesday, May 22, 2024

BJP in dilemma over selection of candidates for Dhanpur


BY TC News Desk

Agartala: July 11. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the state is in dilemma over the selection of its candidate for the upcoming by-election in the Dhanpur Assembly Constituency.

The party is currently in dilemma over the selection of between BJP Chief Rajib Bhattacharya and former Deputy Chief Minister Jishnu Dev Varma.

Party sources said that the state BJP has held a series of meeting on the selection of candidates for the by elections but not reaching in a complete conclusion.

“Earlier BJP had given the candidate Union Minister Pratima Bhoumik and she won also because of her popularity in the Dhanpur Assembly Constituency. While, this time the party is facing tough to select candidate as both the leaders including BJP Chief Rajib Bhattacharya and former Deputy Chief Minister Jishnu Dev Varma are senior and prominent too”, said the source.

The source further claimed that state BJP Chief Rajib Bhattacharya however refused to contest from the seat as he has contested from Banamalipur Assembly Constituency and lost.

“Rajib Bhattacharjee has a strong hold in the party which is no doubt but the central BJP has given him State BJP President post recently and he has also lost the assembly election from Banamalipur Assembly because of some people. So of course he will not take another chance to contest from a vulnerable seat like Dhanpur where the population is mixed”, said a BJP source.

On Jishnu Dev Varma the BJP source said, “Dev Varma is a veteran leader and a man with no enemy. If he contest from the seat chances of winning is high but there would be a challenge if Tipra motha and CPIM comes together and field candidate”, the source added.

Share post:




More like this

BJP’s ‘Ab ki Baar 400 Paar’ a complete fantasy: Tharoor

The Congress on Wednesday punctured holes into BJP's grand...

Stampedes, chaos now hallmark of SP rallies: Yogi

Ridiculing the mass frenzy seen at SP rallies lately,...

Modi-led NDA has bagged 310 seats after 5th phase, Shah claims

 Union Home Minister Amit Shah on Wednesday claimed that...

Cong is cheating Telangana farmers again: K Reddy

Union Minister and Telangana BJP President G Kishan Reddy...