22 C
Tuesday, March 21, 2023

ECI to hold bye-election for RS seat in Tripura on 22nd Sept


By TC News Desk

Agartala: August 31. The Bye-Election for the only Rajya Sabha seat of Tripura would be held on 22nd September. The seat fell vacant after Dr. Manik Saha resigned from the post of Rajya Sabha MP as the top brass of the BJP selected him as the Chief Minister of Tripura.

Soon after Dr. Saha took the oath as the 15th Chief Minister of Tripura, on July 04 he tendered his resignation in New Delhi. In a press statement on August 31 the Election Commission of India has said that the Commission has decided to hold a bye-election to the Council of States from Tripura to fill up the vacancy.

To conduct the election, issue of notification will be held on September 05, last date of making nominations is 12th September while scrutiny of nominations will be held on 13th September, last date of withdrawal of candidatures will be held on 15th September and date of poll will be held on 22nd September.The notification further said that the poll will be started from 9 AM and will continuew till 4 PM and counting will be held on September 22nd only.

The Chief Secretary, Tripura is being directed to depute a senior officer from the State to ensure that the extant instructions regarding COVID-19 containment measures are complied with while making arrangements for conducting the said bye election”, the notification reads.

Share post:




More like this

CM appreciates role of voluntary organizations to meet blood shortage in Hospitals

BY TC News Desk Agartala, March 21: Chief Minister Prof...

49th State Biju Mela and Utsav at Agartala from April 13 to 15

By TC News Desk Agartala, March 21: The 49th state-level...

Centre sanctions 2.5 crore mandays for Tripura in MGNREGA, CM thanks PM Modi

By TC News Desk Agartala, March 21: The Ministry of...

Three persons arrested in Dharmanagar city with 30 kg of dry cannabis

By TC News Desk Agartala, March 21: Acting on a...