26.4 C
Tuesday, June 18, 2024

High Court directive spurs Anganwadi Workers’ demand for fair dues


By TC News Desk

Agartala, 31st May 2024: Anganwadi workers have taken a significant step forward in their quest for fair compensation as mandated by the High Court, making a formal deputation to the Department of Social Welfare and Social Education.

One Anganwadi worker, speaking on behalf of her colleagues, emphasized the importance of adhering to the court’s directives: “The High Court’s order on May 9 clearly stipulated that Anganwadi support workers are entitled to gratuity in accordance with the Payment of Gratuity Act. It is imperative that our rightful dues are settled without delay.”

This development comes in the wake of a prolonged dispute between the state government and Anganwadi support workers over gratuity payments. Forty women Anganwadi Sahayika workers took legal action by filing a case in the High Court, challenging the government’s refusal to honor their entitlements.

On May 9, Justice S. Dutta Purkayastha delivered a landmark judgment, affirming the rights of Anganwadi support workers under the Payment of Gratuity Act. The ruling mandated that the state government must disburse gratuity to all Anganwadi support workers within 30 days of their retirement. Any delay beyond this period would incur an additional 7 percent interest.

The verdict has been met with satisfaction and relief among Anganwadi workers, who view it as a vindication of their rights and a significant stride towards securing their financial well-being.

Share post:




More like this

NSA Ajit Doval holds talks with US NSA Sullivan on iCET

 National Security Advisor Ajit Doval on Monday held talks...

8 die in Bengal train accident: PM announces ex gratia of Rs 2L each

 Eight people have died so far after the Agartala-Sealdah...

Nitish directs authorities to frame law to check question paper leak in exams

) Taking cognizance of the irregularities and question paper...

BJP announces names of election in-charges & co-incharges for 3 states, JK

 BJP on Monday announced names of incharges and co-incharges...