21 C
Monday, March 4, 2024

One held for covering symbol, photo of Congress and its candidate


By TC News Desk

Agartala: Feb 20. Tripura Police today has arrested one person for allegedly covering picture and symbol of Congress party and its candidate Birajit Sinha at EVM machine in Kailashahar.

On February 16, during the Assembly polls, the Congress party had alleged that black tubes were affixed on the Congress symbol in the EVM at Polling Station No. 26 of Srinathpur Gram Panchayat of 53-Kailasahar Assembly. Later on, a written application was made by the Congress party for re-polling at polling station no. 26.

However, the District Election Commission rejected this allegation of the Congress party. Even though such an incident took place inside the polling station, no case was filed by the administration or the presiding officer. There was intense anger between the Congress and CPI (M) parties in the entire Kailashahar Assembly constituency. Finally, the Presiding Officer of Polling Station No. 26 took up a written case in this regard at Irani Police Station on Sunday afternoon, February 19.

 Kailasahar Divisional Police Officer Dhruv Nath said that after receiving the case on February 19, the police arrested Mainul Haque of Srinathpur village today afternoon. Dhruv Nath said that the police forwarded Moinul Haque before the Kailashahar court.

He said that the police took the case under section 125, 131 and 136. However, the SDPO did not want to open his mouth about whether Moinul Haque has accepted the responsibility of the incident in the police interrogation. There has been intense buzz in the political circles as to why the presiding officer did not file a case immediately after the incident.

Share post:




More like this

Tripatrite agreement a smoke screen to divert attention from real issues: Jiten

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 3rd MArch 2024 :  Jitendra...

Five Bihar residents held with cannabis of Rs 4 lakh in Dharmanagar

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 3rd March 2024:   In a...

Police recovered decomposed body from city

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 3rd March 2024:   Tripura Police...

State-Wide Intensified Pulse Polio Vaccination Program begins

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 3rd March 2024:   A three-day...