25 C
Wednesday, May 22, 2024

Over 16k Polling officials depart with EVMs for East LS seat


By TC News Desk

Agartala, 25th April 2024:  Over 16,000 polling personnel, along with police personnel, have commenced their journey to their respective polling stations with Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) for the East (ST) Parliamentary Constituency poll scheduled to be held on April 26.

In the East Parliamentary Constituency of Tripura, BJP candidate Kriti Singh Debbarma will contest against INDI Bloc candidate and CPIM leader Rajendra Reang.

This Lok Sabha seat covers all assembly constituencies of Dhalai, North, Unakoti , Khowai and 4 ACs of South Tripura and 3 ACs of Gomati district. Since morning, the polling personnel have been gathering the EVM machines in Ambassa of Dhalai District, Dharmanagar in North District, and in other places where the dispersal and receive centers have been set up.

Returning Officer for the East (ST) Parliamentary Constituency, Saju Vaheed stated that the dispatched EVMs have started since morning. “For smooth dispersal of EVMs and other polling materials, six Receive and Dispersal Centers have been opened. To ensure peace on the poll day and address any issue, 15 Clusters and 31 Quick Response Teams have been formed. In all the 379 polling stations of Dhalai district, CCTV cameras have been installed and a dry run has been conducted for their smooth functioning. More than 16,000 polling personnel and CAPF have been deployed for the East Parliamentary Constituency,” he said.

“We anticipate that all polling personnel will reach their designated stations by 4 or 4:30 PM. I want to express gratitude to all the polling personnel,” said the RO.

The RO further mentioned that there are a total of 1664 polling stations in the East Parliamentary Constituency.

“There will be adequate security measures in place for conducting free, fair, and peaceful elections,” he added.

Share post:




More like this

CM accuses TMC of misleading public, playing divisive politics

By TC News Desk Agartala, 21st May 2024:  Chief Minister...

Operation launched against sugar hoarding by administrative officials at Belonia

By TC News Desk Agartala, May 21: In a concerted...

Pradesh Congress commemorates 33rd death anniversary of former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 21st May 2024:  In a...