34 C
Thursday, July 25, 2024

21.11 pc polling in first four hours in Bihar


An estimated 21.11 percent of more than 95.11 lakh electorate exercised their franchise till 11 AM in the 5th phase of Lok Sabha elections in five seats in Bihar.

Sources at office of Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of Bihar said that an estimated 21.11 percent polling was recorded till 1 AM during 5th phase of Lok Sabha elections.

Highest 22.70 percent polling was recorded in Sitamarhi, followed by 22.45 in Muzaffarpur, 22.37 in Madhubani, 20.75 in Saran and 17.36 percent in Hajipur Lok Sabha seat.

A large number of electorate are seen waiting in long queues for their turns to exercise their franchise. Women and first time voters are enthusiastically casting their votes.

According to reports, an incident of stone pelting took place between supporters of two candidates near booth numbers 82 and 83 in Chhapra of the Saran Lok Sabha seat. Senior officers and security officers reached on the spot to bring the situation under control. Two people were nabbed and interrogated in this connection.

Union Minister of State for Home Nityanand Rai cast his vote in Hajipur Lok seat. Later, he claimed that NDA candidate Chirag Paswan would win by a big margin of more than five lakhs.

Despite rains in Muzaffarpur and Madhubani Lok Sabha seats, electorate are exercising their franchise. Voters have got respite from scorching heat due to the rains.

Lok Sabha seats where polling is in progress are –Sitamarhi, Madhubani, Muzaffarpur, Hajipur and Saran. NDA had bagged all these seats in 2019 Lok Sabha elections. BJP had won Madhubani, Muzaffarpur and Saran while JD(U) and LJP had won Sitamarhi and Hajipur respectively.

In all five seats, there is straight fight between NDA and INDIA bloc candidates. Most of the parties who had contested as constituents of Grand Alliance in 2019 Lok Sabha elections, are now contesting as partners of INDIA bloc.

In NDA, BJP is contesting Muzaffarpur, Madhubani and Saran Lok Sabha seat while its allies JD(U) and LJP (Ram Vilas) are contesting Sitamarhi and Hajipur seat, respectively. In INDIA bloc, RJD is contesting four seats barring Congress which is contesting Muzaffarpur seat.

LJP (Ram Vilas) president Chirag Paswan, former Union Ministers Rajeev Pratap Rudy and MAA Fatmi, and Chairman of Bihar Legislative Council Devesh Chandra Thakur are among star candidates whose fate would be decided today.

A total of 95,11,186 electorate including 49,99,627 males, 45,11,259 females and 300 third genders are eligible to exercise their franchise at 9,436 polliing stations in five seats.

There are 27 model polling stations and 33 of them are being managed by women only. Webcasting is being done at 4,699 polling stations. Paramilitary forces, state police and Home Guard jawans have been deployed to ensure free and fair polling.

Polling was held in 19 of 40 Lok Sabha seats during first four of seven phased Lok Sabha elections in Bihar. Counting of votes would be taken up on June 4.

Share post:




More like this

Common Service Center day celebrated with dignity

By TC News Desk Agartala, 25th July 2024: Common Service...

Biplab Urges Centre for International Status for MBB Airport

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 25th July 2024:  On Thursday,...

BJP Secures 71% Panchayat Seats Uncontested Amid Opposition Weakness: Rajib

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 25th July 2024:  BJP President...

Mi-28 helicopter crashes in Russia’s Kaluga region

 A Mi-28 helicopter crashed in the Kaluga region of...