29 C
Monday, May 20, 2024

33.22 pc voter turnout till 11 am in Manipur


Polling process picked speed in Outer Manipur Lok Sabha constituency after 9 am on Friday as 33.22 per cent voter turnout was recorded till 11 am compared to less than 15 per cent polling in the first two hours, as per Election Commission officials here.

The poll percentage at 9 am was 14.50 despite fine weather conditions and a smooth voting process since morning.

Thirteen Assembly segments in eight districts of Ukhrul, Kamjong, Tamenglong, Noney, Senapati, Jiribam, Pherzawl, and Tengnoupal, having 4,84,949 voters will choose from four candidates — Alfred Kanngam S. Arthur (Congress), Kachui Timothy Zimik (Naga People’s Front), and Alyson Abonmai and S. Kho John, the two Independents.

There are a total of 848 polling stations, of which 202 will be completely managed by all female personnel.

Arrangements for webcasting/videography have been made for these polling stations. About 87 companies of CAPF have been deployed, in addition to 4,000 state armed personnel in the polling stations. A total of 2,747 PwD electors and 454 Centenarian voters will exercise their franchise tomorrow.

The first phase was marred by booth capturing , attacks on Congress workers and agents, destroying of EVMs; hence repolling was held in 11 polling stations.

So far, there has been no report of any untoward incident on Friday.

Share post:




More like this

SFI, TSU holds protest over Vidyajyoti school results

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 19th May 2024: Concerned parents...

Husband kills wife over dowry, absconding

 By TC News Desk Agartala, 19th May 2024:   A husband...

Misrule in Bengal indicates TMC’s imminent vanishing: CM

 By TC News Desk Agartala, 19th May 2024:  Tripura Chief...

CAA will not affect TTAADC: Pradyot

 By TC News Desk Agartala, 19th May 2024:   The founder...