29 C
Sunday, June 23, 2024

5617 third-gender voters, more in Thane seat: EC


 Thane district records the highest number of third-gender voters, with 1279 registered, followed by Mumbai suburbs with 812 and Pune with 726, till April 4.

As of April 4, 2024, the state has 5,617 third-gender voters out of total voter count.

There was no separate entry of third-gender voters during the Lok Sabha elections in 2004 and 2009.

This year, 10 voters have been registered in Gondia, 9 in Gadchiroli, 7 in Hingoli, 5 in Bhandara, and 1 in Sindhudurg. Third-gender activists Gauri Sawant, Praneet Hate, and Zainab Patel will act as election volunteers.

During the 2014 elections, for the first time, a third gender voter category was created: male voters, female voters, and third.

Now, compared to 2019, the number of third-gender voters has more than doubled, and more voters have been recorded in Thane Lok Sabha constituency.

In 2014, 918 registered voters in the third category, which doubled to 2,086 in 2019, according to a statement from the Election Commission.

In 2014, third-gender voters got the right to vote for the first time after a Supreme Court order. And since then, this group has been recorded in a separate category called tertiary.

In the registration conducted in 2019, it was seen that the number of voters in the third category had doubled.

In 2024, the number of third-party voters will have more than doubled. This means that today even the third gender is aware of their right to vote and is coming forward for voter registration, the statement added.

Share post:




More like this

IPFT’s preparatory meeting for village committee polls

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 22nd June 2024:  The ruling...

West Tripura district’s DM Dr Vishal Kumar takes action to resolve land paper errors

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 22nd June 2024:  The West...

Mega Career Carnival 2024 sparks educational aspirations in Tripura

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 22nd June 2024:   The Madhurupa...

Midnight sabotage sparks protest among Kailashahar tea workers

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 22nd June 2024:  In the...