25.2 C
Thursday, April 18, 2024

AIMIM to contest 9 seats in coming Telangana Legislative assembly election


AIMIM President Asaduddin Owaisi, MP, on Friday announced that the party would field candidates in nine constituencies in the coming Telangana Legislative Assembly elections, slated for November 30.

Addressing reporters here, he stated that, in addition to the existing seven seats that his party holds in the outgoing assembly, AIMIM will now also contest the Rajendranagar and Jubilee Hills constituencies.

He revealed that former mayor Mohammed Majid Hussain would be the candidate for the Nampally seat, while another former mayor, Zulfekhar Ali, would contest from the Charminar assembly segment.

The party made a request to the sitting legislator from Charminar, Mumtaz Ahmed Khan, and the current Yakutpura legislator not to contest in the upcoming elections, which they graciously accepted.

As part of other changes, the sitting Nampally legislator, Jafar Hussain Meraj, has been chosen to contest from the Yakutpura assembly seat. A second list of candidates for Bahadurpura, Jubilee Hills, and Rajendra Nagar will be released soon.

The list of candidates so far is as follows :

Charminar-Mir Zulfequar Ali, Chandrayangutta- Akbaruddin Owaisi, Malakpet- Ahmed Balala, Nampally-Majid Hussain, Karwan- Kouser Mohiuddin, Yakutpura- Jaffer Hussain.

Regarding the coming elections, Owaisi expressed confidence in the BRS party’s ability to secure victory without the need for external support.

He urged voters in nine constituencies to choose AIMIM candidates and emphasized the importance of peace and harmony in Telangana, attributing it to the BRS party’s governance.

Share post:




More like this

Home voting in East parliamentary constituency begins

By TC News Desk Agartala, 17th April 2024:   Home voting...

First phase of Lok Sabha election campaign concludes in West Tripura parliamentary constituency

By TC News Desk Agartala, 17th April 2024:  In the...

Man found deceased in reservoir at Betaga

By TC News Desk Agartala, 17th April 2024:   The Betaga...

Ram Navami: Pranajit Singha Roy offers prayer at Durga Bari Temple in Agartala

By TC News Desk Agartala, 17th April 2024:   The auspicious...