25 C
Wednesday, May 22, 2024

All set for first phase poll in Manipur


Manipur will witness the first phase poll on Friday covering 47 Assembly segments for both Inner Manipur and Outer Manipur Parliamentary seats. The second phase on April 26 for Outer Manipur will cover 13 constituencies.

Election campaigning for the first phase has ended and candidates were preparing for the poll. A scheme has been prepared for the Internally Displaced Persons of the State to vote at the Relief Camps. Designated Assistant Returning Officers were appointed for each district for the purpose. A Special Polling Station will be set up for a cluster of polling stations.

The voting will take place through EVMs only and counting of votes will also take place at the District Head Quarter where the relief camps are located and the results will be transmitted to the concerned Returning Officer/Assistant Returning Officer.

There are 9,80,855 male, 10,47,929 female and 239 Transgender electors. The number of PwD electors stands at 14152 while the number of 85+ electors is 22491. The total number of polling stations is 2955.

Election official said M-3 EVMs will be used in all the polling stations. There are 5176 Ballot Units, 6584 Control Units and 5321 VVPATs available in the State.

For the poll a total of 1058 polling stations have been identified as vulnerable and critical.

Assembly Segments going for polls in First Phase are 1-Khundrakpam, 2-Heingang, 3-Khurai, 4-Khetrigao, 5-Thongju, 6-Keirao, 7-Andro, 8-Lamlai, 9-Thangmei band, 10-Uripok, 11-Sagol band, 12-Keisamthong, 13-Singiamei, 14-Yaiskul, 15- Wangkhei, 16-Sekmai (SC), 17-Lamsang, 18-Konthoujam, 19-Patsoi, 20-Langthabal, 21-N aoriya Pakhanglakpa, 22-Wangoi, 23-Mayang Imphal, 24-Nambol, 25-Oinam, 26-Bishenpur, 27- Moirang, 28-Thanga, 29-Kumbi, 30-Lilong, 31-Thoubal, 32-Wangkhem, 33-Heirok, 34- Wangjing Tentha. 35-Khangabok, 36-Wabgai, 37-Kakching, 38-Hiyanglam, 39-Sugnoo, 41- Chandel (ST), 46-Sai kul (ST), 50-Kangpokpi, 51-Saito (ST), 57-Henglep(ST), 58- Churachandpur (ST), 59-Saikot(ST), and 60-Singhat(ST).

Assembly Segments going for polls in Second Phase are 40-Jiribam, 42-Tengnoupal (ST), 43-Phungyar (ST), 44-Ukhrul (ST), 45-Chingai (ST), 47- Karong (ST), 48-Mao (ST), 49-Tadubi (ST), 52-Tamei (ST), 53-Tamenglong (ST) and 54-Nungba (ST), 55-Tipaimukh (ST) and 56-Thanlon (ST).

Six candidates are in the fray for the 1-Inner Manipur Parliamentary Constituency seat. Those in the fray are Rajkumar Somendro Singh @ Kaiku, Manipur People’s Party (Ind) , Moirangthem Totomshana Nongshaba, (Ind) , Maheshwar Thounaojam, Republican Party of India – Athawale (RPI – A) , Thounaojam Basanta Kumar Singh, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) , Dr. Angomcha Bimol Akoijam, Indian National Congress(INC) and Haorungbam Sarat Singh , ( Ind ). Four candidates are in the fray for 2-Outer Manipur (ST) Parliamentary Constituency . The candidates are Alfred Kanngam S Arthur , Indian National Congress , Kachui Timothy Zimik , Naga People’s Front , Alyson Abonmai (Independent) and S. Kho John (Independent).

Share post:




More like this

CM accuses TMC of misleading public, playing divisive politics

By TC News Desk Agartala, 21st May 2024:  Chief Minister...

Operation launched against sugar hoarding by administrative officials at Belonia

By TC News Desk Agartala, May 21: In a concerted...

Pradesh Congress commemorates 33rd death anniversary of former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 21st May 2024:  In a...