30 C
Thursday, June 20, 2024

BJP heading towards landslide victory in Gujarat, leads in 152 seats


The ruling BJP is heading towards a landslide victory in Gujarat as counting of votes is underway for 182-member Gujarat Assembly, for which polling were held in two phases recently, the latest trends of the Election Commission showed.

According to poll panel, the BJP is leading in 152 Assembly constituencies and won two seats.

Opposition Congress which was eyeing to return to the power is leading in 21constituencies, followed by new entrant, AAP six, Independent two and Samajwadi Party one, the EC data showed.

Among the prominent BJP candidates, who are leading in their respective seats are Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel from Ghatlodia, Hardik Patel from Viramgam and Rivaba Jadeja from Jamnagar.

As per the EC in Ghatlodia, Bhupendra Patel, who is the sitting MLA, since the initial rounds of counting took a lead over his rival Congress candidate A Yajnik. He has polled 89,844 votes so far.

Congress nominee and Dalit leader Jignesh Mevani is trailing from Vadgam. BJP’s MJ Vaghela has so far got 4,0790 votes, while Mevani polled 3,651 votes.

AAP’s CM candidate Isudan Gadhvi is leading from Khambhalia seat. He secured 4,088 votes so far.

The Assembly elections were held in two phases on December 1 and December 5 with a turnout of 66.38 per cent.

The BJP had won 99 seats and the Congress had won 77 seats in 2017.

Share post:




More like this

Assam Rifles holds secreening of patriotic movie for special children in Agartala

By TC News Desk Agartala, 19th June 2024:  Assam Rifles...

Governor Indrasena Reddy Nallu Visits Gomati Hydel Project

 By TC News Desk Agartala, 19th June 2024:   Governor Indrasena...

Kalma SB School elevated to high school status by Minister Shuklacharan Noatia

 By TC News Desk Agartala, 19th June 2024:   Kalma Senior...

Police Raid at Sonamura: 1660 bottles of Eskuf cough syrup recovered, owner evades arrest

 By TC News Desk Agartala, 19th June 2024:    Tripura Police...