25.5 C
Thursday, April 25, 2024

Election notification for Manipur poll issued


 Election notification for 1-Inner Manipur Parliamentary Constituency and 2-Outer Manipur (ST) Parliamentary Constituency were issued on Wednesday by the concerned Returning Officers.

Election will be held in two phases – April 19 for Inner Manipur and some Assembly segments of Outer Manipur and April 26 only in 13 segments of Outer Manipur.

For both seats the candidates or proposer may submit the papers till March 27.

Nomination papers will be taken up for scrutiny on March, 28 and last date of withdrawal will be March 30.

Arrangements were made for filing of papers at Imphal West DC Office, Lamphelpat for Inner Manipur and for Outer Manipur papers can be submitted at DC offices of Thoubal , Ukhrul , Senapati, Kangpokpi, Tamenglong, Churachandpur districts.

The first phase will cover 47 Assembly segments of both constituencies and second phase will cover 13 constituencies of Outer Manipur.

Election officials have also started preparing for the election in all the 16 districts. About 60000 displaced persons due to a crisis in the state will have different polling stations.

Internally Displaced Persons will be considered as ordinary residents of the place where they have been displaced from and hence would be treated as electors of the original place. Designated Assistant Returning Officers will be appointed for each district for the purpose.

The voting will take place through EVMs only and counting of votes will also take place at the District Head Quarter where the relief camps are located and the results will be transmitted to the concerned Returning Officer/Assistant Returning Officer.

The Internally Displaced Persons are required to submit ID Form to the designated AROs at least 10 days before the date of poll.

There are 9,80,855 male, 10,47,929 female and 239 Transgender electors. The number of PwD electors stands at 14152 while the number of 85+ electors is 22491. The total number of polling stations is 2955.

M-3 EVMs manufactured by Electronics Corporation of India Ltd. (ECIL) shall be used in all the polling stations. First Level Checking of machines has been completed. There are 5176 Ballot Units, 6584 Control Units and 5321 VVPATs available in the State.

For Election Expenditure Monitoring 197 Flying Squad Teams, 194 Static Surveillance Teams, 92 Video Surveillance Teams, 60 Video Viewing Teams, 60 Accounting Teams have been constituted and trained.

A total of 1058 polling stations have been identified as vulnerable and critical. Steps also have been taken to identify history sheeters, trouble mongers and persons causing vulnerability and are bound down under Cr.P.C. Besides deploying Micro Observers, these Critical & Vulnerable polling stations will be brought under Webcasting/Videography. Additional CAPF will also be deployed in such polling stations.

Assembly Segments going for polls in First Phase are 1-Khundrakpam, 2-Heingang, 3-Khurai, 4-Khetrigao, 5-Thongju, 6-Keirao, 7-Andro, 8-Lamlai, 9-Thangmei band, 10-Uripok, 11-Sagol band, 12-Keisamthong, 13-Singiamei, 14-Yaiskul, 15- Wangkhei, 16-Sekmai (SC), 17-Lamsang, 18-Konthoujam, 19-Patsoi, 20-Langthabal, 21-N aoriya Pakhanglakpa, 22-Wangoi, 23-Mayang Imphal, 24-Nambol, 25-Oinam, 26-Bishenpur, 27- Moirang, 28-Thanga, 29-Kumbi, 30-Lilong, 31-Thoubal, 32-Wangkhem, 33-Heirok, 34- Wangjing Tentha. 35-Khangabok, 36-Wabgai, 37-Kakching, 38-Hiyanglam, 39-Sugnoo, 41- Chandel (ST), 46-Sai kul (ST), 50-Kangpokpi, 51-Saito (ST), 57-Henglep(ST), 58- Churachandpur (ST), 59-Saikot(ST), and 60-Singhat(ST).

Assembly Segments going for polls in Second Phase are 40-Jiribam, 42-Tengnoupal (ST), 43-Phungyar (ST), 44-Ukhrul (ST), 45-Chingai (ST), 47- Karong (ST), 48-Mao (ST), 49-Tadubi (ST), 52-Tamei (ST), 53-Tamenglong (ST) and 54-Nungba (ST), 55-Tipaimukh (ST) and 56-Thanlon (ST).

Share post:




More like this

New transformer brings relief to electricity consumers after week-long outages in North Tripura

By TC News Desk Agartala, April 24: Residents of North...

Campaign ends for East Parliamentary Constituency

By TC News Desk Agartala, 24th April 2024  :  The campaign for...

Raid at Maharajganj market reveals price irregularities; legal actions to follow

By TC News Desk Agartala, 24th April 2024  :   In...