20.3 C
Sunday, February 25, 2024

Governor nominates 6 members in UP Legislative Council


Uttar Pradesh Governor Anandiben Patel has nominated six members in the Legislative Council, the upper house of the state legislature, official sources said here on Tuesday.

Sources said a notification in this regard was issued by the state government late on Monday evening. Among those, who have been nominated in the upper house, include Vice-Chancellor of Aligarh Muslim University (AMU) Tariq Mansoor.

Along with Mansoor, Saket Mishra, who is son of former Principal secretary to the Prime Minister and currently Chairman of Shri Ram Janmabhoomi Teerth Kshetra Trust Nripendra Mishra, has also been nominated.

Besides, former regional president of Braj region of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Rajni Kant Maheshwari, Chairman of UP Scheduled Caste Finance and Development Corporation Limited Lalji Nirmal, BJP’s Varanasi district president Hansraj Vishwakarma and Ramsurat Rajbhar have also been nominated in the council.

Notably, the names were sent to the Governor by the state government a couple of days back for approval.

Share post:




More like this

Tripura Bar Association to elect new office-bearers on March 23

BY TC News Desk Agartala, February 24: The Tripura Bar...

Tripura to hosts 7th ‘Purvottar Yuva Utsav’ to showcase North East’s talent

BY TC News Desk Agartala, February 24: The state of...

Tripura girl wins Oxford University certificate for story writing

BY TC News Desk Agartala, February 24: Oindrila Chakraborty, a...

Former Deputy CM Jishnu Dev Varma inaugurates Shriraj Mala event, urges to preserve history

BY TC News Desk Agartala, February 24: Former Deputy Chief...