34 C
Wednesday, May 29, 2024

Karnataka Cong fields Shettar for MLC by-polls


) The Congress has named former Karnataka Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar as one of the three candidates for the June 30 bypolls to three legislative council seats in the state.

Shettar had lost the assembly election to BJP’s Mahesh Tenginkai from Hubballi-Dharwad Central constituency by a margin of 34,000 votes. He had quit BJP and joined Congress, ahead of 2023 assembly election after he was denied ticket to contest from there.

The other two candidates for bypolls are Tippannappa Kamaknoor and NS Boseraju. The latter is already a minister in the Siddaramaiah-led cabinet in Karnataka.

The BJP, however, is yet to announce their candidates for the byelection.

The bypolls have been necessitated following the resignation by BJP members Laxman Savadi, Baburao Chinchansur and R Shankar before the May 10 assembly elections in Karnataka.

Share post:




More like this

Flights resume for Syrian Hajj pilgrims after 13-year hiatus

The first flight carrying Syrian pilgrims to the Saudi...

5.0-magnitude quake hits 103 km N of Hihifo, Tonga: USGS

An earthquake with a magnitude of 5.0 jolted 103...

Protesters attack Israel’s embassy in Mexico city with Molotov cocktails

A protest action outside the Israeli Embassy in Mexico...

Pakistani navy foils drug trafficking bid in Arabian Sea

 The Pakistani navy foiled a drug trafficking bid in...