15 C
Thursday, February 2, 2023

RJD MLA Awadh Bihari Chaudhary files nomination for Speaker


Senior RJD MLA Awadh Bihari Chaudhary on Thursday filed his nomination paper for the post of Speaker.

Chaudhary filed his nomination paper before Assembly Secretary, in the presence of

Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, Deputy Chief Minister Tejaswi Prasad Yadav, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Vijay Kumar Chaudhary, JD(U) president Rajeev Ranjan Singh alias Lalan Singh and leader of Congress Legislative Party in Assembly Ajit Sharma. RJD MLA Bhai Birendra, CPI (ML) member Mehboob Alam was among other leaders also present on the occasion.

The election for the post of Assembly Speaker is scheduled to be held on August 26. Since no other candidate has filed his nomination paper, Chaudhary is all set to be declared elected unopposed on Friday.

Election for the post of Speaker was necessitated following the resignation of Vijay Kumar Sinha from the post in the changed political scenario.

Sinha, a BJP MLA was elected Speaker after the 2020 Bihar Assembly elections when the NDA government was formed.

Chief Minister Kumar had walked away from NDA on August 8, 9 and joined hands with RJD to form the Grand Alliance government.

Grand Alliance government having seven parties as its constituents, enjoys the support of 164 MLAs in the House including one Independent.

Chief Minister Kumar had successfully got the confidence of the House on Wednesday as 160 MLAs had supported the confidence motion moved by him.

Share post:




More like this

Tripura police held youth with brown sugar at Churaibari Check Post

By TC News Desk Agartala, February 01, 2023: In the...

CPIM state secretary Jitendra Chaudhury expresses dissatisfaction over RO of Kailashahar AC

By TC News Desk Agartala, February 01, 2023: CPIM state...

BJP boot office ablaze at Bishalgarh, allegation again CPIM, Cong

Agartala: February 01. Despite the promise of violence free...

Miscreants set fire on two vehicles at Amtali

By TC News Desk Agartala: February 01. Unknown miscreants have...