13 C
Sunday, February 5, 2023

Swearing-in of Droupadi Murmu to take place on Monday


New Delhi, July 22 (UNI) The swearing-in ceremony of President elect Droupadi Murmu will take place on Monday in the central hall of the Parliament House.Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar and Election Commissioner Anup Chandra Pandey jointly signed the certification of the election of Droupadi Murmu as the next President of India on Friday.

Earlier, the Election Commission received the Return of Election and a Declaration of Result of election from the Returning Officer PC Mody who is also the Secretary General of Rajya Sabha.Mody announced the election of Murmu after completion of counting of the votes last evening in Parliament House complex.

A signed copy of the certification was handed over to the Home Secretary by Dharmendra Sharma, Senior Deputy Election Commissioner and Narendra Butolia, Senior Principal Secretary. It will be read out at the time of oath taking ceremony of the new President, Election Commission said.In order to facilitate the members to attend the ceremony, Rajya Sabha Chairman Venkaiah Naidu has decided that the Rajya Sabha will meet on that day at 2 pm instead of 11 am.

The Ministry of Personnel has also ordered closure of certain government buildings in the area till 2 pm to ensure smooth conduct of the swearing in-ceremony. The construction of new Parliament building will also be stopped during the time of the ceremony.Meanwhile, Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik will also arrive to attend the swearing-in ceremony of Droupadi Murmu.Murmu is the first tribal woman to hold the position of President of India.

Share post:




More like this

Ex-CM & Rajya Sabha MP Biplab Deb holds organizational meeting at Jolaibari

BY TC News Desk Agartala, February 04, 2023: Former Chief...

BJP’s booth and local offices vandalized at Hrishyamukh AC

BY TC News Desk Agartala, February 04, 2023: An incident...

Tipra Motha releases poll manifesto, launches ‘Mission 150’

BY TC News Desk Agartala: February 04. Tipra Motha a...

ECI approves 12 alternative identity cards apart from voter ID card: CEO

BY TC News Desk Agartala, February 04, 2023: Chief Electoral...