29 C
Friday, March 1, 2024

England name XI for Hyderabad Test


 With just a day to go for their Test series against India, England have named their playing XI for the Hyderabad encounter.

Ben Stokes leads the side which features three spin options in Jack Leach, Rehan Ahmed and Tom Hartley.

Joe Root, who is slated to bat at number four, can also turn his arm over if required, whereas Mark Wood will be the frontline seamer in the lineup.

Zak Crawley and Ben Duckett are the openers, with Stokes, Ollie Pope, and Jonny Bairstow joining Root in the middle-order. Surrey’s Ben Foakes is expected to keep the wickets.

This will be a Test debut for Hartley, an ICC report on Wednesday said.

The XI has four players who didn’t feature in England’s last Test at The Oval: Pope, Foakes, Rehan and Leach.

Squad: Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Ollie Pope, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes (c), Ben Foakes, Rehan Ahmed, Tom Hartley, Mark Wood, Jack Leach.

The series runs from January 25-March 11


25-29 January, First Test, Hyderabad

02-06 February, Second Test, Visakhapatnam

15-19 February, Third Test, Rajkot

23-28 February, Fourth Test, Ranchi

07-11 March, Fifth Test, Dharamsala.

Share post:




More like this

Odisha FC beat East Bengal FC 2-1 in ISL

 Odisha FC built distance at the top of the...

Japan sanctions 9 Russian individuals, 7 companies, bank

Japan has imposed sanctions on nine Russian individuals and...

Five days budget session of Tripura begins

 The five days budget session of Tripura Legislative Assembly...

Santosh Trophy: Manipur, Delhi, Railways secure quarterfinal berths

It’s a tale of six teams in two conundrums...