32 C
Sunday, July 14, 2024

Mayank, Padikkal lead return of Maharaja Trophy T20 in Bengaluru


Mayank Agarwal and a constellation of Karnataka’s cricketing stars are set to ignite the return of the Maharaja Trophy, following the resounding success of its previous editions.

Scheduled from August 15 to September 1, the Shriram Capital Maharaja Trophy KSCA T20, powered by FanCode, will unfold at the city’s iconic M Chinnaswamy Stadium, promising riveting cricketing action.

At the launch ceremony late Friday night, attended by luminaries including Raghuram Bhat, Honorary President of KSCA, BK Sampath Kumar, Commissioner of Maharaja Trophy, and Honorary Vice President of KSCA, alongside Joint Secretary Shavir Tarapore and distinguished guest EAS Prasanna, an Indian cricket legend, franchise representatives were also present.

Defending champions Hubli Tigers and last year’s runners-up Mysore Warriors headline a formidable lineup that includes the Gulbarga Mystics, Bengaluru Blasters, Mangaluru Dragons, and Shivamogga Lions.

Recognised as Karnataka’s premier domestic T20 league, the Maharaja Trophy will showcase top-tier talents such as Devdutt Padikkal, Manish Pandey, Vyshakh Vijaykumar, Krishnappa Gowtham, and Vidwath Kaverappa.

Retaining its successful franchise-based format, the 2024 edition offers teams the opportunity to build on their strengths and nurture local talent. An upcoming auction is anticipated to attract over 700 cricketers vying for coveted spots in the tournament.

In the previous auction, franchises displayed fervent interest in Karnataka’s cricket stars. Abhinav Manohar’s move to the Shivamogga Lions for 15 lakhs topped the charts, with Mayank returning to the Kalyani Bengaluru Blasters for 14 lakhs. Gulbarga Mystics secured Padikkal for 13.2 lakhs, while experienced campaigner Manish Pandey joined Hubli Tigers for 10.6 lakhs.

“We are thrilled to announce the third edition of the Maharaja Trophy KSCA T20. This promises to be our most exhilarating tournament yet, showcasing Karnataka’s cricketing heritage and nurturing emerging talents,” remarked Raghuram Bhat, expressing his enthusiasm.

Sampath Kumar added, “KSCA remains committed to fostering excellence in T20 cricket. Building on two successful seasons, we aim to elevate the standards of domestic leagues across India.”

Indian cricketing legend Prasanna shared his anticipation, stating, “It’s exciting to witness the unveiling of the Maharaja Trophy. This platform provides a crucial pathway for aspiring cricketers towards leagues like the IPL and national team opportunities. I eagerly look forward to witnessing exceptional performances.”

The tournament will be broadcast live on STAR Sports 2 and STAR Sports Kannada, with FanCode serving as the official OTT partner. UNI BDN AKS

Share post:




More like this

Harmony festival kicks off with traditional ‘Kharchi Utsav’ in the premises of Old Agartala

By TC News Desk Agartala, 13th July 2024:  The much-anticipated...

Panchayat Polls: CM appeals to maintain consistency of BJP’s victory

  By TC News Desk Agartala, 13th July 2024:   Chief...

BSF arrested a Bangladeshi national at Jatrapur

By TC News Desk Agartala, 13th July 2024:  On specific...