26.2 C
Thursday, April 18, 2024

Shanker, Prisha clinch 28th Fenesta Open National Tennis Championship titles


) Manipur’s Shanker Heisnam and Maharashtra’s Prisha Shinde produced big upsets to clinch the titles in their respective categories in the 28th Fenesta Open National Tennis Championship on Saturday at the DLTA Complex here.

The No. 16 seed Shanker displayed excellent baseline play and defeated seventh seed Thirumurugan V of Tamil Nadu 6-1, 6-2 in straight sets to win the boys singles U-16 title, while Prisha beat sixth seed Anandita Upadhyay 6-1, 6-2 to clinch the girls singles U-14 title in a tournament that witnessed around 1,000 players across categories in different age groups.

The winners received glittering trophies as the ceremony was attended by Saket Jain, Executive Director and Business Head of Fenesta Building Systems (a division of DCM Shriram Ltd.) and Mr. Balram Singh from DLTA.

“I extend my heartfelt congratulations to all the players who played in Fenesta Open Nationals. At DCM Shriram, our mission has always been to nurture the aspirations of young tennis players, and it brings me immense joy to acknowledge that we have consistently lived up to this objective. Over the years, the Fenesta Nationals Tournament has been a stage where remarkable achievements have been witnessed, and numerous promising talents have been discovered. As an organization, we remain dedicated to the sport and its future,” commented Saket Jain on a successful edition of the tournament.

Telangana’s Rishitha Basireddy won the girls singles U-16 title after getting better of Aishi Bisht of Delhi 6-4, 6-3 in an exciting encounter that saw some ferocious forehands by both the players. Top seed Hruthik Katakam of Telangana also shone brightly on the court as he defeated Karnataka’s Prakaash Sarran 6-4, 6-3 to win the boys singles U-14 title.

Fenesta Open National Tennis Championship—organised by DCM Shriram Ltd., a leading business conglomerate, under the aegis of All India Tennis Association and Delhi Lawn Tennis Association, has witnessed the participation of renowned Indian tennis players such as Rohan Bopanna, Somdev Devvarman, Yuki Bhambri, Sania Mirza and Rutuja Bhosale in the past editions. It is India’s biggest domestic tennis tournament.

The tournament also offered a kit allowance for all the junior categories.

Share post:




More like this

Home voting in East parliamentary constituency begins

By TC News Desk Agartala, 17th April 2024:   Home voting...

First phase of Lok Sabha election campaign concludes in West Tripura parliamentary constituency

By TC News Desk Agartala, 17th April 2024:  In the...

Man found deceased in reservoir at Betaga

By TC News Desk Agartala, 17th April 2024:   The Betaga...

Ram Navami: Pranajit Singha Roy offers prayer at Durga Bari Temple in Agartala

By TC News Desk Agartala, 17th April 2024:   The auspicious...