29 C
Thursday, February 29, 2024

Uncapped spinner named as Australia sweat on Starc & Green


 Australia have named an 18-man group for the Border-Gavaskar series in India, including 22-year-old Todd Murphy as they anxiously wait on the fitness of Mitchell Starc

and Cameron Green.

Off-spinner Murphy storms into the group after a strong start to his First Class career, joining Ashton Agar and Mitchell Swepson as potential spin partners for Nathan Lyon. Murphy and the rest of the spin group were preferred over Adam Zampa.

Australian Chairman of Selectors George Bailey said Murphy’s selection is a nod to his strong start across Sheffield Shield action, and for his efforts for Australia A and the Prime Minister’s XI, ICC reported.

“Todd Murphy has progressed quickly having impressed in domestic cricket and recently with Australia A. With those performances Todd has emerged as a strong spin option,” he said.

“Selection in this squad also provides another opportunity to spend time alongside Nathan Lyon

and assistant coach Daniel Vettori in India which will be invaluable to his development,” Bailey said.

Uncapped quick Lance Morris keeps his place in the squad after Australia’s home tour, and is a chance of a debut at least for the first Test in Nagpur with news that Mitchell Starc will not join the squad until after the first Test as he recovers from tendon damage to his left middle finger.

Batters Peter Handscomb and Matt Renshaw will back up the top six in the touring squad, with Marcus Harris, a member of Australia’s squad for their home summer, left out.

All-rounder Cameron Green is also in a race to be fit, though could make the opening Test in spite

of a fractured right index finger during the Boxing Day Test against South Africa.

Australia Test squad for tour of India: Pat Cummins (c), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (vc), Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner

Australia Tour of India 2023

February 9-13: First Test

February 17-21: Second Test

March 1-5: Third Test

March 9-13: Fourth Test

March 17: First ODI

March 19: Second ODI

March 22: Third ODI.

Share post:




More like this

Puneri Paltan sails past Patna Pirates, roar into PKL Final

 Puneri Paltan secured their spot as the first finalists...

Mumbai City FC & FC Goa share points in ISL

Mumbai City FC played a 1-1 draw against FC...

B-town couple Deepika-Ranveer expecting first child

 Bollywood power couple Deepika Padukone and Ranveer Singh have...

Ravi Teja’s action-packed film ‘Eagle’ soars on OTT platforms

 Ravi Teja's latest action thriller, "Eagle," is set to...