28.9 C
Tuesday, April 23, 2024

Bangladesh’s newly elected MPs take oath


 Bangladeshi Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina along with other lawmakers from her party took oath as MPs (Members of Parliament) on Wednesday following the January 7 parliamentary elections.

The oath was administered by Bangladesh’s Parliament Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury.

Apart from this, independent MPs-elect and newly elected MPs of other parties took the oath in the ceremony.

According to gazette notification published by the Election Commission on Tuesday afternoon, the AL party led by Hasina won 222 out of 298 seats. The AL-led alliance bagged a landslide win with 225 seats.

Hasina’s ruling Awami League (AL) party, which clinched an overwhelming victory in general elections, will form its new cabinet on January 11, a senior Cabinet Division official told Xinhua Tuesday.

Share post:




More like this

NCW New Delhi and NLU Tripura host empowerment workshop

By TC News Desk Agartala, 22nd April 2024: The National...

Chittaranjan Maharaj conferred Padma Shri by President Droupadi  Murmu

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 22nd April 2024:  President of...

Police arrest husbands in connection with murder of two housewives

BY TC News Desk Agartala, April 22: Police apprehended the...

Worker found dead at Bhati Abhoynagar

BY TC News Desk Agartala, April 22: A dead body...