26.6 C
Thursday, April 25, 2024

Agartala Press Club pays homage to four departed journalists


BY TC News Desk

Agartala, February 17: The Agartala Press Club held a solemn ceremony on Saturday to remember four of its members who passed away recently. The four journalists were Partha Sengupta, Kalyan Gupta, Sushanta Debbarma and Debashish Barua. They were praised for their hard work, honesty and social responsibility.

The ceremony took place at the third floor hall of the Agartala Press Club at 5 pm. The attendees included journalists, photojournalists, news workers and their family members. They offered floral tributes to the portraits of the four deceased journalists.

Ramakanta Dey, the Secretary of the Agartala Press Club, read out the condolence resolution and hailed the four journalists as role models for the profession. The participants observed a minute of silence to honour their memory.

Jayanta Bhattacharya, the president of the Agartala Press Club, along with senior journalists Sanjib Deb, Haradhan Debnath, Chitra Roy, Pranab Sarkar, Pranab Ghosh, and associate members Parijat Datta, Harihar Debnath, shared their reminiscences of the four journalists who had touched many lives with their work.

The Agartala Press Club also handed over condolence letters to the relatives of the four journalists. The speakers urged the journalists to follow the legacy of the four journalists and uphold the values of honesty and integrity in their careers. They also acknowledged the immense contribution of the four journalists to the socio-economic development of the state and the quality of journalism.

Share post:




More like this

New transformer brings relief to electricity consumers after week-long outages in North Tripura

By TC News Desk Agartala, April 24: Residents of North...

Campaign ends for East Parliamentary Constituency

By TC News Desk Agartala, 24th April 2024  :  The campaign for...

Raid at Maharajganj market reveals price irregularities; legal actions to follow

By TC News Desk Agartala, 24th April 2024  :   In...