26.9 C
Thursday, July 18, 2024

Congress, CPIM leaders faces attack, vehicle vandalized in NC Nagar



Agartala: March 10. Panic gripped Nehal Chandra Nagar area under Sepahijala district in Tripura on Friday after a delegation of Congress and CPIM leaders faced attacks and vandalized there vehicle by alleged BJP supporters.

Today 8 MPs of Congress and CPIM have arrived in the state to visit different violence affected areas in the state.

The attack was carried out at Nehal Chandra Nagar area under Sepahijala district in Tripura when MLA and PCC Chief Birajit Sinha, MP Abdul Khalique, Congress working committee member and In charge of Tripura Dr Ajoy Kumar, CPIM state committee Secretary and MLA Jitendra Chaudhury,  Congress MLA Gopal Chandra Roy and MP of CPIM Elamaram Kareem went there to interact with the locals pertaining to the incidents of post-poll violence.

Although all the leaders could return from the place unhurt, two vehicles were severely damaged by the miscreants that resorted to stone pelting.

On the issue, PCC Chief Birajit Sinha has alleged that more than 25 BJP workers all of a sudden came in front of them and prevented them from entering the market.

“Yesterday around 19 shops in the market of NC Nagar were burnt to ashes by the BJP backed miscreants. But when we arrived at the spot, the BJP workers rushed to the spot and started accusing us that Congress and CPIM workers have set the shops on fire. They told us that all the shops that were burnt down belonged to supporters of the BJP”, said Sinha.

Sinha further said that all of a sudden the BJP workers started pelted stones on their vehicles amidst Tripura State Rifles (TSR) personnel.

Share post:




More like this

Elderly woman faces tenant dispute in Milan Chakra area

By TC News Desk  Agartala, 17th July 2024: A 79-year-old...

Drivers at Udaipur halted bus services to demand the withdrawal of a three new laws

By TC News Desk  Agartala, 17th July 2024:. Around 16...

Mayor Dipak Majumder addresses issues at Durga Chowmuhani’s Bipani Bitan, announces measures

By TC News Desk  Agartala, 17th July 2024:  Mayor Dipak...

Manik Sarkar Highlights BJP’s Decline: Urges Public to Unite Against Anti-People Policies

By TC News Desk  Agartala, 17th July 2024:  Former Tripura...