20.3 C
Sunday, February 25, 2024

CPI (M) field candidates in 43, keep 13 seats reserved for Congress


BY TC News Desk

Agartala: January 25. The principal opposition CPI (M) of Tripura on Wednesday announced the candidate for 43 seats keeping 13 reserved for Congress.

Addressing a press conference, Left Front Convener Narayan Kar said, “Our main aim is to oust BJP from power. We came under same banner just to oust BJP and throw the party from state. We have appealed all the anti-BJP secular and democratic forces to come together in a move to oust the saffron party”.

Kar further said that this time the party has introduced 24 new and fresh faces who will be contest this election for the first time.

However, this time many veteran leaders like former Chief Minister Manik Sarkar, former finance minister Bhanu Lal Saha, Sahid Chowdhury, Badal Chowdhury, Jashbir Tripura, Tapan Chakraborty and Mabasar Ali from CPI (M) relieved this time.

This time, among these 60 seats CPI (M) will contest in 43 seats, Congress in 13, CPI in 1, RSP will be contest in 1 seat, Forward Bloc in 1 while one candidate will be contest in one seat as independent. In this election six sitting candidates will be contesting while CPI (M) state committee secretary will be contesting from 40-Sabroom Assembly Constituency.

From Dhanpur Assembly constituency which was home turf of former chief minister Manik Sarkar, now Kousik Chanda will be contest.

Share post:




More like this

Tripura Bar Association to elect new office-bearers on March 23

BY TC News Desk Agartala, February 24: The Tripura Bar...

Tripura to hosts 7th ‘Purvottar Yuva Utsav’ to showcase North East’s talent

BY TC News Desk Agartala, February 24: The state of...

Tripura girl wins Oxford University certificate for story writing

BY TC News Desk Agartala, February 24: Oindrila Chakraborty, a...

Former Deputy CM Jishnu Dev Varma inaugurates Shriraj Mala event, urges to preserve history

BY TC News Desk Agartala, February 24: Former Deputy Chief...