26.8 C
Monday, May 20, 2024

Five students injured in ragging incident at Mohanbari school hostel


BY TC News Desk

Agartala, 2nd March 2024:   Five students of Mohanbari Residential English Medium SB School in Subal Singh area under Hejamara block of Mohanpur division were severely beaten by their seniors and hostel staff on February 26. The injured students, who are in third, fourth and fifth class, were taken to GB Hospital for treatment.

The names of the injured students are Abhijit Debbarma, Rohit Debbarma, Riaz Debbarma, James Debbarma, and Simon Debbarma. The names of the accused are Akash Debbarma, John Debbarma, Milton Debbarma, Shayan Kumar Debbarma, hostel warden Kajal Debbarma, night guard Paresh Debbarma, Super Sarjit Debbarma, and helper Mantush Debbarma.

According to the parents of the victims, the ragging incident took place under the supervision of the hostel warden and superintendent, who encouraged the seniors to assault the juniors. The parents also alleged that the hostel warden threatened them and warned them not to report the matter to anyone. The victims initially kept silent out of fear, but later revealed the truth to their families.

A delegation of Tripura Students Union (TSU) visited the homes of the injured students on March 2 and expressed solidarity with them. The TSU also submitted a deputation to the ADC education administration, demanding strict action against the culprits and an inquiry into the incident. TSU Central Committee General Secretary Sujit Tripura said in a press conference that the BJP and IPFT alliance government and ADC administration have failed to ensure the safety and quality of education in the state. He said that the TSU had protested against ragging in the past, and the previous Left Front government had abolished ragging in the education sector. However, he accused the current government and administration of trying to revive ragging and violence in the schools and hostels.

The TSU also demanded compensation and medical assistance for the injured students, and urged the authorities to take measures to prevent such incidents in the future. The TSU deputation team included Deputy Secretary Dipshanu Debbarma, Central Committee Member Ankit Mura Singh, Badal Debbarma and others.

Share post:




More like this

SFI, TSU holds protest over Vidyajyoti school results

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 19th May 2024: Concerned parents...

Husband kills wife over dowry, absconding

 By TC News Desk Agartala, 19th May 2024:   A husband...

Misrule in Bengal indicates TMC’s imminent vanishing: CM

 By TC News Desk Agartala, 19th May 2024:  Tripura Chief...

CAA will not affect TTAADC: Pradyot

 By TC News Desk Agartala, 19th May 2024:   The founder...