25 C
Friday, February 3, 2023

Former CM Biplab Kumar Deb wins Rajya Sabha election


By TC News Desk

Agartala: September 22. Former Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb won the sole seat of Rajya Sabha on Thursday on which election was held early today.Former Chief Minister Deb who contested from BJP won with 43 votes while his rival candidate CPIM nominee Bhanu Lal Saha bagged 15 votes.

Among 60 members of MLAs, only two MLAs didn’t cast their votes including Brishaketu Debbarma if IPFT who was disqualified from the assembly while sole Congress MLA Sudip Roy Barman boycotted the vote.

On twitter after winning the election, former Chief Minister Deb wrote, “Gratitude to the BJP and IPFT MLAs of Tripura for electing me as a Rajya Sabha MP. Gratitude to PM Sri @narendramodi Ji, @BJP4India President Sri @JPNadda Ji & HM Sri @AmitShah for giving me this opportunity to represent Tripura in Rajya Sabha”.

He further wrote, “With the blessings of Mata Tripurasundari, I will continue to serve beloved people of Tripura till my last breath”.The voting process had begun at the premises of the Tripura Legislative Assembly at 9 AM this morning and continued till 4 PM. The counting of has started on the same day from 5 PM.

Share post:




More like this

CM receives Nadda, Smriti Irani at MBB Airport; to take part in ‘Vijay Sankalp’ rally

BY TC News Desk Agartala Feb 03: With crucial assembly...

Jiten visits Brijit’s residence; Discussion held on ‘Joint-Campaign’

BY TC News Desk Agartala Feb 03: CPIM State secretary...

Miscreants set fire on booth offices of CPIM & Congress at Bishalgarh

BY TC News Desk Agartala, February 02, 2023: Miscreants set...

Tripura poll: 259 candidates in fray, 32 nomination withdrawals

BY TC News Desk Agartala: February 02. 259 candidates are...