29.1 C
Tuesday, April 16, 2024

Two newly elected MLAs takes oath


BY TC News Desk

Agartala, 12th September 2023: Two newly elected BJP candidates including Tafajjal Hossain and Bindu Debnath took oath as MLA in the assembly today.

The newly elected MLAs were sworn in on Tuesday at the Legislative Assembly, with Speaker Bishwabandhu Sen administering the oath in a formal ceremony attended by Chief Minister Dr. Manik  Saha commended the newly inducted members and expressed confidence that they would diligently serve the public.

Dr. Saha revealed that following the 2023 assembly elections, BJP initially had 32 MLAs with IPFT holding one seat. However, due to a resignation, the BJP’s tally temporarily dipped to 31.

“Consequently, by-elections were held in two vacant constituencies, both of which were clinched by BJP candidates. This bolstered the BJP’s representation to 33 seats, with the alliance now commanding a total of 34 MLAs”, he said.

MLA Tafajjal Hossain emphasized his commitment to prioritizing road development in the region, vowing to spearhead comprehensive growth initiatives. He expressed gratitude for the trust placed in him by the electorate.

Meanwhile, MLA Bindu Debnath pledged to approach his responsibilities with utmost seriousness, focusing on advancing education and infrastructure, particularly roads, in the area. He lamented the perceived underperformance of previous MLAs in Dhanpur, vowing to exceed expectations.

The swearing-in ceremony witnessed the presence of Chief Minister Dr. Manik Saha, members of the Council of Ministers, State BJP President Rajib Bhattacharya, MLA Pinaki Das Chowdhury, and other BJP officials. However, opposition leaders were conspicuously absent, asserting that the election outcome was lacking in democratic legitimacy.

Share post:




More like this

Community in uproar as police allegedly neglect kidnapping case of minor girl

By TC News Desk Agartala, 16th April 2024:  Allegations have...

Sudip accuses Papia for destroying campaign materials, demands action

By TC News Desk Agartala, 16th April 2024:   Sudip Roy...

Tragic Collision at Bishalgarh: Ambulance and motorcycle crash results in three serious injuries

By TC News Desk Agartala, 16th April 2024:   A high-speed...