25 C
Wednesday, May 22, 2024

BJD MP Anubhav Mohanty joins BJP


 Actor turned politician and BJD MP from Kendrapara, Anubhav Mohanty, who resigned from the primary membership of the party on Saturday, joined the BJP on Monday.

Anubhav, who was elected to Rajya Sabha from Odisha as a BJD candidate in 2014 and also elected to Lok Sabha from Kendrapara Lok Sabha seat in 2019, joined the BJP at the party’s headquarters in Delhi.

He is the second BJD-sitting MP to join the BJP. Earlier, six-time Lok Sabha MP from Cuttack and also the founding member of BJD, Bhartruhari Mahatab, resigned from the primary membership of the party and joined the BJP.

Anubhav, who was a star campaigner of the BJD during both the 2014 and 2019 general elections in the state, was once one of the star campaigners of the ruling BJD in Odisha.

In his resignation letter to Party President Naveen Patnaik, Anubhav stated, “Despite my unwavering loyalty and deep admiration for you sir, whom I have regarded as a fatherly figure, I’ve been grappling with undisclosed concerns that have made me feel suffocated over the past four years.”

Besides Anubhav, three other Ollywood stars such as former BJD Lok Sabha MP Sidhant Mohapatra, former BJD MLA Akash Das Nayak, and BJD leader Arindam Ray, who were also star campaigners of the BJD in Odisha, resigned from the party and joined the BJP.

These actor-turned-politicians have similar allegations that they were being ignored in the party and questioned the functioning of the party affairs.

As of now, two BJD sitting MPs and two former MPs have already resigned from the party and joined the BJP.

In another development in the BJD, Senior leader and former Chairperson of the Odisha State Commission for Protection of Child Rights (OSCPCR), Sandhyabati Pradhan, also resigned from the primary membership of the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) on Monday.

In a major setback to the ruling BJD in Odisha, over 15 leaders who were elected to both Lok Sabha and Assembly as BJD candidates in the past had so far resigned from the party during the last fortnight and joined the BJP.

They included two sitting MLAs, Pradeep Panigrahi and Prashant Jagadev, who were expelled from the party for indulging in anti-party activities.

Share post:




More like this

CM accuses TMC of misleading public, playing divisive politics

By TC News Desk Agartala, 21st May 2024:  Chief Minister...

Operation launched against sugar hoarding by administrative officials at Belonia

By TC News Desk Agartala, May 21: In a concerted...

Pradesh Congress commemorates 33rd death anniversary of former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 21st May 2024:  In a...