26.1 C
Wednesday, April 24, 2024

BJP concedes defeat to Cong in Karnataka assembly election


Karnataka BJP on Saturday conceded defeat as Congress is surging ahead of the saffron party in the state assembly election.

As at 1.08 pm, the Congress is leading in 127 assembly seats, clearly on the way to wrest power from the BJP which is leading in 69 seats, while JDS is leading in 25 seats.

For a simple majority, a party needs to win 113 seats.

This verdict is in contrast to exit polls predicting hung assembly. Most of them had given an edge to the Congress, and a few predicted a majority for the grand old party.

Conceding defeat, Karnataka Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai said, “We have not been able to make the mark despite a lot of efforts put in by everybody right from our Prime Minister. Congress has been able to make the mark.”

Bommai said the party will do a detailed analysis once all the results pour in and plug the gaps and deficiencies and look to improve upon it in the future. “We take this result in our stride, and we will go ahead and reorganise the party and come back during the Lok Sabha election,” he said.

Union minister Rajeev Chandrasekhar said the party respects and accepts the verdict in favour of the Congress. “We will contribute to our state and our people as a constructive opposition,” he said.

Reacting to the verdict in their favour, Congress leaders launched a tirade against Prime Minister Narendra Modi, holding him responsible for BJP’s defeat in Karnataka hustings.

Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel said Karnataka election result is as per their expectations, and attacked Prime Minister Narendra Modi for seeking votes by keeping himself in the front, and this it is his defeat.

Chief Minister aspirant Siddaramaiah said there has been no impact of PM Modi, Amit Shah and JP Nadda, the tallest BJP leaders in the state.

“I had been saying let Narendra Modi or Amit Shah or JP Nadda come how many ever times they want to the state, (but) that will have no impact on the voters of Karnataka because people are fed up with BJP, their corruption, maladministration and their anti-people politics,” he stated.

Congress General Secretary Jairam Ramesh said it is certain that the Congress has won and PM Modi has lost.

The counting of votes for the 224-member Karnataka assembly began at 8 am.

Share post:




More like this

Ratan Lal Nath campaigns for BJP nominee for East Tripura seat Kriti Singh Debbarma at Khowai

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 23rd April 2024:   In a...

Thungchrai ADC village residents demand basic amenities, call for LS election boycott

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 23rd April 2024:   The Reang...

Landowner reclaims property after eight-year legal battle at Sonamura

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 23rd April 2024:   In a...

Governor Indra Sena Reddy Nallu attends “Hanumad Dhwaja Pujanam” at SDDKBMC

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 23rd April 2024:   The “Hanumad...