17.8 C
Sunday, January 29, 2023

Polling begins for by-election in Kurhani assembly seat


Polling began amid tight security arrangements at 7 AM for by-election in Kurhani assembly seat of Bihar where 3.11 lakhs electorate will be exercising their franchise to decide the fate of 13 candidates.

Sources of office of Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) said here that a total of 3.12 lakhs electorate would be exercising their franchise at 320 booths to decide the fate of 13 candidates including former MLAs Kedar Gupta and Manoj Singh Kushwaha.

Central paramilitary forces besides local police had been deployed to ensure fair polling which would continue till 6 PM, sources added.

The by-poll has been necessitated after disqualification of RJD MLA Anil Kumar Sahni from the House after his conviction in a fraud case. Main contenders are former MLAs Kedar Gupta and

Manoj Singh Kushwaha fielded by BJP and JD(U) respectively. Others in the fray include

Mohammad Ghulam Murtaza (AIMIM) and Neelabh Kumar (VIP).

In 2020 Bihar Assembly elections, Gupta had lost to Sahni in 2020 Assembly polls, by a margin

of around 700 votes. In by-election, RJD is supporting its allies JD(U).

Share post:




More like this

IPFT to continue alliance with BJP, will field candidate in five seats

BY TC News Desk Agartala: January 28. Indigenous People’s Front...

Raveena Tandon to make her digital debut on Disney+ Hotstar

Highly versatile actress Raveena Tandon, known for pushing boundaries...

Pooja Hegde steals the show in ‘Kisi Ka Bhai Kisi Ki Jaan’ teaser

Starting the year with a bang, pan-Indian star Pooja...

SRK’s ‘Pathaan’ mints Rs 313 cr gross worldwide in 3 days

 Yash Raj Films’ (YRF) ‘Pathaan’, directed by Siddharth Anand,...