30 C
Thursday, June 13, 2024

BJP Sweeps Boxanagar and Dhanpur By-polls , Secures Resounding Victory”


BY TC News Desk

Agartala: After six rounds of counting for the Boxanagar and Dhanpur Assembly constituencies, where the by-poll was held on September 5, the ruling BJP has secured a landslide victory.

Vote counting for the September 5 by-elections began at 8 a.m. The ruling BJP and the opposition CPI(M) were in a head-to-head contest for both seats, Boxanagar and Dhanpur, as other opposition parties chose not to participate.

The BJP fielded Tafajjal Hossain and Bindu Debnath from Boxanagar and Dhanpur respectively. Their challengers from the CPI(M) are Mizan Hossein (Boxanagar) and Kaushik Chanda (Dhanpur).

The Left Front opted out of the counting process, alleging extensive rigging during the voting process. They have asserted that the Election Commission of India (ECI) failed to implement adequate measures to curb this riging.

After the sixth round of counting, BJP’s Tafajjal Hossain won with 34,146 votes, while Mizan Hossain of CPI(M) received 3,909 votes. In Dhanpur, BJP candidate Bindu Debnath won with 30,017 votes, and Kaushik Chanda of CPI(M) received 11,146 votes.

Share post:




More like this

Ratan chairs state-level review meeting on Agricultural developments*

By TC News Desk Agartala, 12th June 2024:  A significant...

BJP’s post-election violence signals insecurity, weakness: Manik

By TC News Desk Agartala, 12th June 2024:  Former Chief...

Beloved teacher Anamika Majumder passes away after struggle with heart disease

By TC News Desk Agartala, 12th June 2024:  In a...

Congress delegation submits memorandum to North DM, demands revision of voter list

By TC News Desk Agartala, 12th June 2024:   In a...