28 C
Tuesday, July 23, 2024

ECI directs Tripura to take action against three cop after Congress rally came under attack


By TC News Desk

Agartala: January 20. The Election Commission of India (ECI) have ordered the Chief Secretary and Director General of Tripura Police to immediate take action against Sub-divisional Police Officer, Officer-in-charge of Rani Bazar Police Station and Officer-in-charge of Jirania Police Station by suspending or removing them.

Today ECI has ordered Inquiry into the incident and has asked Chief Electoral Officer, Tripura to obtain report from DGP Tripura through Chief Secretary, Tripura and submit report by 3 pm on January 20.

Expressing displeasure, the ECI today said Chief Secretary and Director General of Police, Tripura were asked to explain as to why the situation escalated despite a sufficient number of CAPF personnel deployed in the State.

“The Commission conveyed its displeasure in no uncertain and strongest terms on the violent incident despite the Commission’s strict directions during visit to the state and thereafter. CS & DGP were directed to ensure level playing field for all political parties and to initiate strict action against partisan officers. The Commission has directed CS & DGP to take stringent action against SDPO Jirania sub-division by suspending or removing him, action against Officer-in-charge of Rani Bazar Police Station and Officer-in-charge of Jirania Police Station by removing them”, the order of ECI reads.

The ECI has also directed CS and DGP to immediately assess the threat perception to the leaders of various political parties in the State and provide security as per the threat perception without further delay.

“Chief Electoral Officer, Tripura was directed to reiterate to the District Election Officers to facilitate the permission to political parties on first-cum-first basis and popularise the SUVIDHA App for disposing off applications of political parties for meetings, rally, roadshow, etc”, it reads.

The Commission has also appointed three Special Observers and have been asked to proceed to Tripura immediately to take stock of the situation, ensure proper deployment of CAPF, intensify enforcement measures and report back to the Commission.

The three special observers are Yogendra Tripathy (IAS:1985, Karnataka) an illustrious IAS officer retired as Secretary to Government of India, Vivek Johri (IPS:1984, Madhya Pradesh) an acclaimed IPS officer, having served as DGP of Madhya Pradesh and B. Murali Kumar, an IRS officer of 1983 batch has done election duties as Special Observer in Assembly elections of Gujarat and Uttar Pradesh, 2022 and West Bengal, 2021.

The report of ECI further informed that the report from Tripura Government confirmed that Dr Ajoy Kumar sustained minor injuries in an unlawful rally (incident happened in the area where permission was not given by district authorities) and it is not true that he received serious injuries.

Share post:




More like this

Attempts to turn Tripura into Manipur: Congress condemns conspiracy, demands action

By TC News Desk Agartala, 23rd July 2024:  A fiery...

Union budget is inclusive budget: CM

By TC News Desk Agartala, 23rd July 2024:   Tripura Chief...

Union budget placed to help coporators, its not a pro-people: Jiten

By TC News Desk Agartala, 23rd July 2024:    Leader of...

Bangladeshi nationals held by BSF

By TC News Desk Agartala, 23rd July 2024:  BSF deployed...