34.7 C
Tuesday, April 16, 2024

PM to declare open 3rd edition of Khelo India University Games


Prime Minister Narendra Modi will declare open Khelo India University Games 2022 on Thursday at 7 PM via video conferencing.

This year, the third edition of the Khelo India University Games will be held from 25th May to 3rd June in Uttar Pradesh, a statement issued by the Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) said.

The Khelo India University Games (KIUG) is now India’s biggest multi-sport competition at the higher education level.

Over 4 000 athletes from more than 200 universities will be competing in 21 sports. The competitions will be organised in Varanasi, Gorakhpur, Lucknow and Gautam Buddha Nagar.

Among other dignitaries present will be the Yogi Adityanath Chief Minister, UP, and Anurag Singh Thakur, Union Minister for Youth Affairs and Sports and Information and Broadcasting, as well as MoS, Sports, Nisith Pramanik.

As per the ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports the 70-minute ceremony, officially begins at 6.50 pm at the B.B.D. University Cricket ground with the rendering of the national anthem by an Army band.

The Games mascot “Jeetu” inspired by the state animal Barasingha will also be an integral part of the celebrations. The function concludes with a special performance by famous singer Kailash Kher.

Speaking ahead of the event, Navneet Sehgal, Additional Chief Secretary, Sports and Youth Affairs, UP, said, “It is a red-letter day for sports in UP and we are all eagerly looking forward to the event which has been meticulously planned under the visionary guidance of the Chief Minister”

Some prominent national level athletes who will be seen in action in this edition of the KIUG are the likes of Manu Bhaker, Hriday Hazarika, Mehuli Ghosh, Arjun Babuta and Sift Kaur Samra in Shooting, Diya Chitale and Ananya Basak in Table Tennis, Sk. Sahil in Football, Aneesh Gowda in Swimming, Malvika Bansod in Badminton, Yash Ghangas in Judo and Priya Malik and Sagar Jaglan in Wrestling, among others.

Share post:




More like this

Theft at Teliamura Class XII English Medium School

By TC News Desk Agartala, April 15: Teliamura Class XII...

Postal voting commences for service workers at Shishu Bihar HS School, RO Dr Vishal Kumar oversees process

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 15th April 2024:  The crucial...

Pujan rejoins Congress, Sudip accuses BJP of destroying campaigning materials

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 15th April 2024:  Pujan Biswas,...

Vote for BJP to strengthen PM Modi’s hand: CM urges voters

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 15th April 2024:  Chief Minister...