30 C
Tuesday, September 26, 2023

President-elect Murmu pays homage to Mahatma Gandhi


 Ahead of her scheduled swearing in ceremony as the 15th President of India, President-elect Droupadi Murmu paid homage to Father of the Nation Mahatma Gandhi at Rajghat here on Monday.

Murmu offered floral tribute to Mahatma Gandhi.

She will be sworn in to the highest office of the country at 10.15 am at the Central Hall of Parliament House, making her the first-ever person belonging from the tribal community to reach the top constitutional post. She will also be the youngest president India has ever had.

Outgoing President Ram Nath Kovind and Murmu will arrive in the Central Hall in a ceremonial procession at 10.03 am.

The President-elect will take the Oath of Office that will be administered by Chief Justice NV Ramana.

Murmu will exchange the seat with the outgoing President. She will also sign the oath register placed before her by the secretary to the President.

After signing the oath register, the home secretary will be announcing the proclamation following the new President’s assent.

Murmu would then be given a 21-Gun Salute which will be followed by her address at 10.23 am.

Rajya Sabha Chairman M. Venkaiah Naidu, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla, Members of the Council of Ministers, Governors, Chief Ministers, Heads of Diplomatic Missions, Members of Parliament and principal Civil and Military Officers of the government will be present for the ceremony.

On the conclusion of the ceremony, the new President will leave for Rashtrapati Bhavan where an Inter-Services Guard of Honour will be accorded to her in the forecourt and courtesies will be extended to the outgoing President.

The Ministry of Personnel has ordered closure of certain nearby buildings in the area till 2 pm to ensure smooth conduct of the swearing in ceremony.

The construction of new Parliament building will also be stopped during the duration of the ceremony.

Murmu, the NDA’s presidential choice, was on July 21 declared the next President securing 64 per cent votes against 36 per cent by Opposition candidate Yashwant Sinha.

Share post:




More like this

Tripura HC Upholds Dismissal of 10,323 Teachers; Imposes Fine on Petitioner

BY TC News Desk Agartala: September 26. In a landmark...

CM slams CPIM for doing politics of division

 BY TC News Desk  Agartala, September 26: Chief Minister Prof....

Northeast first Vande Bharat Express being highly patronized by passengers

 Indian Railways flagship "Vande Bharat Express" trains have been getting...

Mamata pays homage to Ishwar Chandra Vidyasagar on birth anniversary

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Tuesday paid...