18.6 C
Thursday, February 29, 2024

Siddaramaiah, Shivakumar to take oath as CM, Dy CM of K’taka on May 20


Ending all speculations, the Congress on Thursday announced the name of its stalwart Siddaramaiah as the new Chief Minister of Karnataka, and state’s party chief DK Shivakumar as Deputy CM.

The announcement of the party comes after a series of deliberations by Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge with top leaders including Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi, and Siddaramaiah and Shivakumar.

Siddaramaiah, won from the Varuna Assembly constituency , while Shivakumar from Kanakapura seat.

Addressing a press conference at the party headquarters, Congress general secretary in-charge Organisation KC Venugopal said, “The Congress president after holding several deliberations has decided that Siddaramaiah

Siddaramaiah will be the CM of Karnataka and DK Shivakumar will be the only one Deputy CM. Shivakumar will continue as the president of Karnataka Congress till the Parliament election is over.”

He said that a meeting will be held this evening in Bengaluru to elect the Congress Legislature Party leader.

The senior Congress leader also informed that the swearing in ceremony will take place on May 20.

Along with CM, Deputy CM , a group of ministers will also take oath, added Venugopal.

Crediting both the leaders from the Southern state for the party’s stupendous victory in the Assembly polls, the senior Congress leader, “Siddaramaiah is an experienced politician and an able administrator. Similarly, Karnataka party president DK Shivakumar is one of the dynamic leader in the state. Both are big assets of the Congress party in Karnataka.”

“Our is a democratic party. We believe in consensus and not dictatorship,” Venugopal said.

He added, “I would like to thank the people of Karnataka. This election was poor vs rich.”

In response to a question, the senior Congress leader said leaders of all the ‘like-minded’ parties will be invited in the swearing ceremony.

Congress Karnataka in-charge Randeep Singh Surjewala while apprising the same said that the party is committed to give a transparent government in Karnataka and work for the welfare of the people of the state.

Meanwhile, Shivakumar in a tweet wrote, “Karnataka’s secure future and our peoples welfare is our top priority, and we are united in guaranteeing that.”

Earlier, Kharge in a tweet wrote, ” Team Congress is committed to usher progress, welfare and social justice for the people of Karnataka. “

The Congres chief said that the party will implement the five guarantees as promised to 6.5 cr Kannadigas during the Assembly polls.

In the recently concluded Karnataka polls, the Congress won 135 Assembly seats out of 224 constituencies.

Share post:




More like this

PCC to hold party workers’ conference on March 6

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 28th February 2024 :  The...

Women’s self-empowerment is a priority for the state government, says Pranajit Singha Roy

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 28th February 2024 :  The...

ASHA workers demand better pay and benefits, submits memorandum to CMO of West district

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 28th February 2024 :   A...

All Tripura Blind Association submits memorandum to Director of ICA department

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 28th February 2024 :   The...