31 C
Friday, June 21, 2024

ZPM dethrones MNF, storms into power in Mizoram


By Agencies

New Delhi, 4th December 2023: The Zoram’s People Movement (ZPM) made its way to power in this year’s state assembly elections after winning about 27 seats. The ZPM defeated the incumbent Mizo National Front, which managed to acquire 10 seats, followed by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) that won two seats and Congress that won one seat at the state polls.

ZPM will stake claim to form the government in the state after holding a consultative meeting of newly elected MLAs and senior party leaders. The chief ministerial face of ZPM, Lalduhoma travelled to Aizawl on Monday to meet the newly elected MLAs.

The BJP, which contested 23 seats, won only two constituencies, while the Congress bagged only one seat. Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), which contested four seats for the first time, drew a blank. The Mizo National Front (MNF) which ruled the north eastern state since 2018 but beat the dust five years later. In 2018, the party had won 26 seats in the 40-member House however it managed to bag only 10 this time.

On the other hand, the Zoram People’s Movement, a party that was registered only four years ago, swept the elections securing 27 seats.

The 73-year-old ZPM chief Lalduhoma first contested the Mizoram assembly polls on a Congress ticket in 1984 but lost to People’s Conference party nominee Lalhmingthanga by a margin of 846 votes.

Lalduhoma, an ex-IPS officer who served as the in-charge of former Prime Minister Indira Gandhi’s security, was the first MP to be disqualified under the anti-defection law after he was accused of conspiring against then chief minister Lal Thanhawla and some cabinet ministers.

ZPM emerged as winners in Kolasib, Chalfilh, Tawi, Aizawl North-I, Aizawl North-II, Aizawl North-III, Aizawl East I, Aizawl East II, Aizawl West-I, Aizawl West-II, Aizawl West-III, Aizawl South-I, Aizawl South-II, Aizawl South-III, Lengteng, Tuichang, Champhai North, Champai South, Tuikum, Hrangturzo, South Tuipui, Lunglei North, Lunglei East, Lunglei West, Lunglei South, Lawngtlai East and Serchhip seats. The MNF won in Hachhek, Mamik, Tuirial, Dampa, Serlui, Tuivawl, East Tuipui, West Tuipui, Thorang and Tuichawng seats and was leading in one.

Share post:




More like this

CM orders action after 15 girl students fall ill : Warden, caretaker terminated, issued show cause

 BY TC News Desk Agartala, 20th July 2024:  Following an...

Transport Minister demands more flights, trains from Agartala, Dhaka, Chittagong

 BY TC News Desk Agartala, 20th July 2024:   : Transport...

20 School Girls Hospitalized After Consuming Hostel Meal

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 20th June 2024:   In a...

NFR to resume the Garib Rath Express in state from July

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 20th June 2024:         Northeast...