41.4 C
Monday, April 22, 2024

2023 Nobel Prize in Medicine awarded to developers of mRNA vaccines against COVID-19


 The 2023 Nobel Prize in Medicine has been awarded to Hungarian-American biochemist Katalin Kariko and US physician-scientist Drew Weissman for developing the modified Messenger RNA (mRNA) technology used in COVID-19 vaccines, the Nobel Committee said on Monday.

“The 2023 #NobelPrize in Physiology or Medicine has been awarded to Katalin Kariko and Drew Weissman for their discoveries concerning nucleoside base modifications that enabled the development of effective mRNA vaccines against COVID-19,” the Nobel Committee said on X, formerly known as Twitter.

Share post:




More like this

Manipur: Re-polling underway in 11 polling stations

Re-election is taking place on Monday at 11 polling...

Karnataka: 7 booked in Belagavi for forcing woman to convert

Seven individuals, including a married couple, in Karnataka have...

Israeli raid kills 1 militant in S. Lebanon, Hezbollah says downs Israeli drone

One Amal Movement member was killed and two others...

S. Korean president names 5-term lawmaker as chief of staff

 South Korean President Yoon Suk-yeol on Monday named a...