22 C
Saturday, March 2, 2024

Argentina, Iran, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, UAE to become new BRICS members


Argentina, Iran, Saudi Arabia, Egypt and the UAE will become new members of the BRICS grouping (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa), Brazilian news portal UOL reported, citing the draft final document of the summit.

According to the report, in order to maintain a geographical balance, one more African country could be included in the list.

The BRICS summit is being held in Johannesburg on August 22-24. It is attended by the leaders of China, India, Brazil and South Africa. Russia is represented by Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov. Russian President Vladimir Putin takes part in the summit via videoconference.

A total of 23 states have recently expressed their desire to join BRICS, including Argentina, Iran, Algeria, Tunisia, Turkey, Saudi Arabia, and Egypt.

Share post:




More like this

Road rage leads to 4 critically injured at Bishalgarh*

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 1st March 2024:   In a...

Tripura budget 2024-25: Pradesh BJP hails it as welfare, future and development oriented

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 1st March 2024:   BJP state...

Financial Literacy Week-2024 concludes with Governor Indra Sena Reddy Nallu’s speech

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 1st March 2024:  The Reserve...

Higher Secondary exams of TBSE begins from today,

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 1st March 2024:   The Tripura...