25 C
Wednesday, May 22, 2024

Election held peacefully, record 80.32 % voter turnout amidst vote boycott by 1700 voters


By TC News Desk

Agartala, 26th April 2024 :    Tripura has recorded an 80.32% voter turnout in the East Parliamentary constituency election in a free, fair, and peaceful manner, which began at 7 AM this morning amidst tight security.

Addressing a press conference, CEO of Tripura, Puneet Agarwal, stated that by 8 PM, the voter turnout had reached 80.32%.

“The election was conducted peacefully. Complaints were minimal, and those received were promptly investigated and resolved. People came out from their homes to cast their votes. The West Parliamentary poll was also conducted peacefully. In the East parliamentary constituency, there are 1664 polling stations. The process commenced in March. All polling parties are returning, and voting is still underway in approximately 20 polling stations, which will conclude soon. The final percentage can be declared by tomorrow,” he said.

He mentioned that the CEO’s office received a complaint from Belonia in Jolaibari, where voters were reportedly stopped. Upon investigation by the District Election Officer (DEO) and sector officer, no evidence was found.

Furthermore, he informed that in two polling stations, voters decided not to participate in the election, namely Noting Lal Para Junior Basic School and Sadai Mohan Para Junior Basic School in Dhalai district.

“They boycotted due to concerns over road construction and other issues. Despite efforts by the Sub-Divisional Magistrate (SDM) and engineers to address their grievances, they remained adamant about not casting their votes. Approximately 649 and 1059 complaints were received in both phases,” he added.

Share post:




More like this

CM accuses TMC of misleading public, playing divisive politics

By TC News Desk Agartala, 21st May 2024:  Chief Minister...

Operation launched against sugar hoarding by administrative officials at Belonia

By TC News Desk Agartala, May 21: In a concerted...

Pradesh Congress commemorates 33rd death anniversary of former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi

BY TC News Desk Agartala, 21st May 2024:  In a...